Highly Hands-On

Family Programs at the High Museum of Art

What’s your job at the High? February 25, 2011

Filed under: What's your job at the High? — erinkdougherty @ 10:30 am

Do you ever wonder who hangs the art on the walls here at the High Museum? Well it’s your lucky day! Today we’re talking to Justin McNeight one of our Preparators. Read on to learn more about what he does:

Q: How long have you worked at the High?

A: I have worked at the High for almost 8 years.

Q: What is it that you do at the Museum?

A: Preparator.  We’re responsible for the installation/deinstallation and maintenance of the galleries.  Hanging the works, lighting, etc.

Q: What do you like most about your job?

A: I like the people I work with. I also enjoy using a drill.  A Dewalt preferably. 14 volt, if you please.

Q: What is your favorite work of art in the permanent collection and why?

A: April Gornik’s Storm Passing

Q: What do you like to do when you’re not working at the Museum?

A: When I’m not at the museum I play music, hang out with my wife, work in a recording studio, ride my bike, feed the dogs, and dig on chips and salsa.

 

Leave a Reply

