Highly Hands-On

Family Programs at the High Museum of Art

What’s your job at the High? September 9, 2010

Filed under: What's your job at the High? — erinkdougherty @ 4:34 pm

It takes a lot of people to keep the High Museum of Art running on a daily basis. I’m going to try and introduce you to some of the wonderful people you may see when you visit the Museum. Then, once you get to know them, you can wave and say hello the next time you see them.

Today we’re talking with Officer Bugg. He works in security at the Museum.

Q: How long have you worked at the High?

A: I have worked at the High Museum of Art for three wonderful years now.

Q: What is it that you do at the Museum?

A: I work in the fine department of security as a supervisor and lead officer. Our daily mission is to help create a safe and secure environment for all our staff, guests, facilities, and collections. And, our greatest means of accomplishing this mission is by extending to all great guest services.

Q: What do you like most about your job?

A: What I like most about my job is the fact that I get to meet and greet people from all walks of life. It still amazes me how well-known we are throughout the world, and that’s awesome.

Q: What is your favorite work of art in the permanent collection? Why?

A: The painting “Lady in Black Velvet (Portrait of Eulabee Dix Becker)” because of its carefree technique and dark hidden mystery. It reminds me of watching an exciting BBC drama/mystery from Masterpiece Theatre.

Q: What do you like to do when you’re not working at the Museum?

A: I enjoy being with my family, taking long adventures through the woods with my dogs, and composing fine works of art in my studio.

Now that you know a little bit about Officer Bugg, you can wave and maybe even ask him a question of your own the next time you see him.

See ya soon,

Erin

 

Leave a Reply

